Post-EVO 2015 Interview with Liquid|HungryBox

HungryboxJemmillion: Congratulations on coming in 2nd for Super Smash Bros: Melee at this year’s EVO 2015.  How were you feeling during grand finals and those last few matches?

Liquid|HungryBox: Thanks! I was feeling a strange confidence.  Mainly, because I was able to transform my playstyle as the top 8 bracket proceeded. I was very happy to have made it to grand finals, which is a problem for me. When I’m happy, some of the hunger to win subsides, so I suppose I can never be happy during the bracket if I truly want to be the best. But I felt I was playing very well.

Jemmillion: You’re main is Jigglypuff. Can you tell us a little bit about why you choose this character as your main and what makes them top tier in your eyes compared to the other characters?

Liquid|HungryBox: She has Rest, a move that is usually a one hit KO. It’s an all or nothing in some cases, but I’ve figured out ways to use it safely and efficiently. It’s incredibly satisfying to land. She also has very good aerial mobility. Because I use tap jump, I think she was just naturally suited to me. And a good Jiggly Puff can kill most of their opponents off of just one grab.

Jemmillion: Who and/or what inspired you to become a part of the Fighting Game Community?

Liquid|HungryBox: I never really looked at competitive gaming as joining the FGC, but rather my affiliation with the Smash Community sort of made it happen. I was just a super competitive person since like, birth. I hated losing and loved winning. And if there was something I knew I could be good at, I wouldn’t put it down.

Jemmillion: How long have you been playing video games? Was Smash always your main game?

Liquid|HungryBox: Since I was five. Smash Melee is the only game I play now, but as a youth I played a bunch of Mario and Kirby platformers. I only really played Nintendo Games and the GBA was my favorite system for sure. Melee became my main game at some point in early High School. I went pro in 2009.

Jemmillion: Who’s the toughest player that you ever fought against? Why?

Liquid|HungryBox: Mango has always been difficult for me to beat. I think his playstyle has no real patterns, so it’s difficult for me to punish. He’s also the only person who can really rush me down with no fear. I’m hoping my win at EVO over him puts momentum in my favor. We both heavily rely on momentum. I also hate playing against low tier pros, because their characters and styles are so weird.

Jemmillion: You’re current sponsor is Team Liquid. When and how did they approach you? What was the deciding factor in accepting sponsorship with them?

Liquid|HungryBox: I was with Curse eSports before Liquid. Liquid acquired Curse, so here I am!

Jemmillion: What’s the story behind your gamertag name Hungrybox?

Liquid|HungryBox: I forged my mom’s signature in Middle School, inadvertently creating the hungrybox doodle. That name sort of stuck with me, because when I entered my first local events ever, I would just put a different tag each time. When I entered as Hungrybox, it was the first time I made it out of pools at this 60 man local.

Jemmillion: What are your goals for the upcoming year within the FGC?

Liquid|HungryBox: Win everything and be an engineer while doing so. 1st place at majors is basically my only goal left. I would also like to make sure Liquid continues to grow as an organization and keep my eyes open for potential personal sponsors.

I want to keep beating Mango as well 🙂

Jemmillion: What events will you be attending next?

Liquid|HungryBox: Big House 5, hopefully Paragon. Perhaps MVG Snowstorm. SmashCon is a toss-up for me since I start work the next day at WestRock.

Jemmillion: If you could be one superhero and one fighting game character, who would it be?  Why?

Liquid|HungryBox: I would love to be the Hulk, so when I pop off, I destroy an entire venue.

I’d like to be Goku from Budokai, because he’s just broken.

You can follow Liquid|HungryBox at the below social media sites:

https://twitter.com/LiquidHbox

https://www.facebook.com/iamhungrybox

https://www.youtube.com/user/juanthefatty

http://www.twitch.tv/hungrybox

Learn more about Team Liquid at the below sites:

http://www.teamliquidpro.com/

https://twitter.com/TeamLiquidPro

Want to learn more about the FGC (Fighting Game Community)? Check out:

http://shoryuken.com/

http://www.eventhubs.com/

Leave a comment